Social Studies Teacher Publishes Children’s Book

Isaiah Buchanan joined the Middle School faculty in 2008 after teaching history for six years in the Baltimore City Public School system. Recently he published his first children’s book, “The Legend of George.”

Legend of George cover

“The Legend of George” is a whimsical story of a hard working shoemaker. Dragons, giant flying pigs, and politically charged peach pies would be enough to challenge the patience and courage of anyone. But George is not the kind of man who lets difficult situations upset him for very long. By the end of this adventure we learn that a positive attitude is a powerful weapon, and nice guys don’t always finish last.

This illustrated book, for children ages seven and up, can be purchased at The Book Patch. Recently Mr. Buchanan sat down with us to discuss his book, and how it started in his classroom.

From the time you got the idea, how long did it take to create the book and publish it?
This was a rather long process. The story started off as a lesson about myths and legends in my social studies class. After a few years of teaching that lesson, it grew legs and became a story of its own.

What were your favorite books as a child?
As a kid I loved science fiction and fantasy stories. I also read comic books because I’m dyslexic and reading them helped me increase my vocabulary because they include complex stories with picture context clues.

What made you decide to become a teacher?
I became a history teacher because I love telling stories. History is a bunch of true stories.

What do you do for fun?
I hang out with my four daughters; jog, lift weights, and box with my brothers; and go to jazz and heavy metal concerts. And I still read comic books!

Leave a Reply

